Rules of Golf explained: I’ve hit the ball with a practice swing. Does it count?


Stumped by something you’ve seen out on the course? Our rules expert will find you the answers

Despite the simplification of the Rules of Golf at the beginning of 2019, there are still some that leave us scratching our heads. And as I’ve passed the R&A’s level 2 rules exam with distinction, I am more than happy to help.

This week, Phil got in touch on email to talk about something we’ve all done.

“What is the rule on taking a practice swing with a club – NOT A PUTTER – and catching the ball?”

Rules of Golf explained: Our expert says…

All right, Phil, no need to shout…

But seriously, I am going to talk about putters too because the answer to this question can depend upon which part of the course you are in.

There’s not one of us out there, for example, who hasn’t accidentally knocked it off the tee – usually to be greeted by that idiot who goes ‘one’.

As we all know, it isn’t. That’s because when you are playing a ball from the teeing area, it’s not in play until a stroke is made at it.

You can make a practice swing and, if you accidentally strike the ball, you’ve neither made a stroke nor moved a ball in play. You can re-tee the ball or another ball without penalty. Rules 6.2b (5) is your friend here.

Who can forget Zach Johnson doing this, to hilarious effect, at the Masters last year?

It’s a very similar situation on the putting green too. Strike or move a ball with a practice swing there – or in fact ‘accidentally cause your ball to move in any other way’ – and you just replace it on its original spot and move on under Rule 13.1d (1).

Where the rules are less forgiving is if this happens anywhere else in the course – be it general area, penalty area or bunker.

What’s the difference? While you still haven’t made a ‘stroke’ if you catch it with a practice swing, you’re going to pick up a one-stroke penalty for moving a ball that’s already in play.

If this unfortunate situation happens to you, don’t make it worse. Make sure you replace the ball back where it was. Forget to do that and you’ve played from a wrong place. Now it’s a two-shot penalty (or loss of hole in match play) for your troubles.

Got a Rules of Golf question you need answering? Leave it in the comments, email me or tweet me.

Follow NCG on TwitterFacebook and Instagram – and don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel for free online golf instruction, the latest equipment reviews, and much, much more.





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *