For Cameron Tringale, Friday at the PGA Championship was a case of deja vu all over again, as baseball Hall of Famer Yogi Berra once memorably put it.
During the 2nd round of the 102nd PGA Championship at TPC Harding Park, Tringale signed for a score lower than he actually made on the par-3, No. 8. He signed for a 3 but made a 4, after missing his 14-foot par putt.
After his scorecard was officially certified, he then left the scoring area, but later returned to notify the Scoring Referee of his mistake. He was subsequently disqualified for violating Rule 3.3b(3).
As rule 3.3 – Wrong Score for a Hole – states, if a player returns a scorecard with a wrong score for any hole:
Returned Score Higher Than Actual Score. The higher returned score for the hole stands.
Returned Score lower Than Actual Score or No Score Returned. The player is disqualified.
Tringale, 32, had signed for 2-under 68 and was going to be sweating out the cutline the rest of the day. According to Golf Digest, Tringale was eating lunch when he pulled up the tournament’s app and noticed the error.
But this isn’t the first time Tringale was disqualified from the PGA Championship for a scoring violation.
In 2014, a guilt-ridden Tringale called the PGA Tour a week later and disqualified himself after finishing T-36 at Valhalla and earning $53,000. He claimed to have missed a stroke when attempting to tap in on the 11th hole of the final round.
“Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded,” Tringale said in a statement after the 2014 PGA.